Back to top

You're with Stupid

You're with Stupid
kranky, Chicago, and the Reinvention of Indie Music

An insider’s look at how Chicago’s underground music industry transformed indie rock in the 1990s.

Series: American Music Series

November 2022
Not yet published
Add to cart

Available for pre-order.
This book will be available in November 2022.
Subscribe to be notified of availability.
288 pages | 5.5 x 8.5 | 21 b&w photos |

In the 1990s, Chicago was at the center of indie rock, propelling bands like the Smashing Pumpkins and Liz Phair to the national stage. The musical ecosystem from which these bands emerged, though, was expansive and diverse. Grunge players comingled with the electronic, jazz, psychedelic, and ambient music communities, and an inventive, collaborative group of local labels—kranky, Drag City, and Thrill Jockey, among others—embraced the new, evolving sound of indie “rock.” Bruce Adams, co-founder of kranky records, was there to bear witness.

In You’re with Stupid, Adams offers an insider’s look at the role Chicago’s underground music industry played in the transformation of indie rock. Chicago labels, as Adams explains, used the attention brought by national acts to launch bands that drew on influences outside the Nirvana-inspired sound then dominating pop. The bands themselves—Labradford, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Low—were not necessarily based in Chicago, but it was Chicago labels like kranky that had the ears and the infrastructure to do something with this new music. In this way, Chicago-shaped sounds reached the wider world, presaging the genre-blending music of the twenty-first century. From an author who helped create the scene and launched some of its best music, You’re with Stupid is a fascinating and entertaining read.

  • Introduction
  • 1. Hey Chicago
  • 2. Honk if You Hate People, Too
  • 3. That That Is . . . Is (Not): 1991–1992
  • 4. Accelerating on a Smoother Road: 1992–1993
  • 5. Analog Technology Makes Space Travel Possible: 1994
  • 6. Slow Thrills: 1995
  • 7. The Taut and the Tame: 1996
  • 8. London Was Ridiculous: 1997
  • 9. An Audience Hungry to Hear What Would Happen Next: 1998
  • 10. Both Ends Fixed: 1999
  • 11. After This They Chose Silence: 2000–2002
  • Epilogue: Specifically Dissatisfied Since 1993
  • Acknowledgments
  • Author’s Notes
  • Index

Bruce Adams, who has worked in the music industry since 1988, is the co-founder of kranky records, which was established in Chicago in 1993. He left kranky in 2005 and continues to work in the industry.